Converting a Virtual PC image to Hyper-V

So I finally did it.  After “playing” with Windows 8 on many devices for some time I finally upgraded my daily machine to Windows 8.  I mostly wanted to do this because the ability to use Hyper-V.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Windows 8, but I NEEDED 64bit VMs and Virtual PC can’t do that.  My choices were VMWare or VirtualBox.

As much as I loved Sun, I am less enthusiastic about Oracle and the ‘Always trust Oracle Corporation’ option during the setup frankly creeps me out.  Virtual PC has worked well for me and lets me use my existing Hyper-V knowledge to do things like differencing disks.

I took an existing Virtual PC disk I had and decided I would now use it in Hyper-V.  It started right up, like nothing, but I couldn’t get the mouse to work.  It sort of worked, but didn’t left click.  After a little fooling around (and using some mad keyboard shortcut skills) I arrived at my solution: I had the integration features from Virtual PC installed.  Not only could I not install the Hyper-V integration features, I also could not use the mouse.

Some more keyboard ninja work and the old integration components were uninstalled.  After a reboot (which now takes that image about 15 seconds on the same hardware compared to Virtual PC’s 1 minute plus) I was in business.

Yes, Virtual PC had been a little long in the tooth, but Hyper-V on Windows 8 is AWESOME.  Best of all I can shift images in and out of Azure VMs.  I haven’t done too much of this yet, but will write more as I do.

About danrosanova
I am a Principal Program Manager for Messaging at Microsoft and product owner for Azure Messaging: Service Bus, Relay, and Event Hubs. I have a long history in distributed computing on a variety of platforms and have focused on large scale messaging and middleware implementations from inception to implementation. I was a five time Microsoft MVP before joining Microsoft and author of the book Microsoft BizTalk Server 2010 Patterns.

Leave a Reply

